Asiabooks.com

HOW ENGLAND MADE THE ENGLISH: FROM HEDGEROWS TO HEATHROW

With this product, you earn 15 point(s).

How to order

Normal Price ฿495

Special Price ฿371.25

HOW ENGLAND MADE THE ENGLISH: FROM HEDGEROWS TO HEATHROW
25%

HOW ENGLAND MADE THE ENGLISH: FROM HEDGEROWS TO HEATHROW

Paperback

฿495
฿371.25
(Save ฿123.75 )

How to order

With this product, you earn 15 point(s).

Point details
7-14 Business days

PAYMENT METHOD

payment01 payment02 payment03
คำที่เกี่ยวข้อง EUROPEAN HISTORY

Synopsis: HOW ENGLAND MADE THE ENGLISH: FROM HEDGEROWS TO HEATHROW

Harry Mount's "How England Made the English: From Why We Drive on the Left to Why We Don't Talk to Our Neighbours" is packed with astonishing facts and wonderful stories. Q. Why are English train seats so narrow? A. It's all the Romans' fault. The first Victorian trains were built to the same width as horse-drawn wagons; and they were designed to fit the ruts left in the roads by Roman chariots. For readers of Paxman's "The English", Bryson's "Notes on a Small Island" and Fox's "Watching the English", this intriguing and witty book explains how our national characteristics - our sense of humour, our hobbies, our favourite foods and our behaviour with the opposite sex - are all defined by our nation's extraordinary geography, geology, climate and weather. You will learn how we would be as freezing cold as Siberia without the Gulf Stream; why we drive on the left-hand side of the road; why the Midlands became the home of the British curry. It identifies the materials that make England, too: the faint pink Aberdeen granite of kerbstones; that precise English mix of air temperature, smell and light that hits you the moment you touch down at Heathrow. Praise for Harry Mount: "Highly readable, encyclopeadic, marvellous, illuminating. Mount portrays England via dextrous excavations of its geography, geology, history and weather". ("Independent"). "Fascinating. Mount's an intelligent, funny and always interesting companion". ("Daily Mail"). "Charming and nerdily fact-stuffed". ("Guardian"). Harry Mount is the author of "Amo, Amas, Amat and All That", his best-selling book on Latin, and "A Lust for Window Sills - A Guide to British Buildings". A journalist for many newspapers and magazines, he has been a New York correspondent and a leader writer for the "Daily Telegraph". He studied classics and history at Oxford, and architectural history at the Courtauld Institute. He lives in north London.

Product Details

ISBN 9780670919147
Weight 0.364
Publisher PENGUIN GROUP (UK)
Book Size (cm.) 129x198x27
Dimension Width(กว้าง)(CM) 12.96
Dimension Length(ยาว)(CM) 12.96
Dimension High(สูง/หนา)(CM) 20.32
Language English
Number of Pages 368

Highlight

Harry Mount's "How England Made the English: From Why We Drive on the Left to Why We Don't Talk to Our Neighbours" is packed with astonishing facts and wonderful stories. Q. Why are English train seats so narrow? A. It's all the Romans' fault. The first Victorian trains were built to the same width as horse-drawn wagons; and they were designed to fit the ruts left in the roads by Roman chariots. For readers of Paxman's "The English", Bryson's "Notes on a Small Island" and Fox's "Watching th view all

All Reviews

Comments & Ratings (0 review)

  • (0)
  • (0)
  • (0)
  • (0)
  • (0)
MOUNT, HARRY

about author

Harry Mount is the author of Amo, Amas, Amat and All That, his best-selling book on Latin, and A Lust for Window Sills - A Guide to British Buildings. A journalist for many newspapers and magazines, he has been a New York correspondent and a leader writer for the Daily Telegraph. He studied classics and history at Oxford, and architectural history at the Courtauld Institute. He lives in north London.

read more

You may also like

Recommended for you