Asiabooks.com

CARRIE'S WAR (PUFFIN MODERN CLASSIC)

Out of stock

฿250
CARRIE'S WAR (PUFFIN MODERN CLASSIC)

CARRIE'S WAR (PUFFIN MODERN CLASSIC)

 BAWDEN, NINA

Paperback

฿250

Out of stock

With this product, you earn 10 point(s).

Point details

PAYMENT METHOD

payment01 payment02 payment03
คำที่เกี่ยวข้อง FOR AGE 7 - 12 YEARS

Synopsis: CARRIE'S WAR (PUFFIN MODERN CLASSIC)

A Puffin Book - stories that last a lifetime. Puffin Modern Classics are relaunched under a new logo: A Puffin Book. There are 20 titles to collect in the series, listed below, all with exciting new covers and fun-filled endnotes. Carrie's War by Nina Bawden is an unforgettable Second World War story. 'I did a dreadful thing ...or I feel that I did, and nothing can change it...' It is the Second World War and Carrie and Nick are evacuated from London to a small town in Wales, where they are placed with strict Mr Evans and his timid mouse of a sister. Their friend Albert is luckier, living in Druid's Bottom with Hepzibah Green who tells wonderful stories, and the strange Mister Johnny, who speaks a language all of his own. Carrie and Nick are happy to visit Albert there, until one day when Carrie does a terrible thing - the worst thing she ever did in her life...Based on her own childhood, Nina Bawden's enchanting story Carrie's War has delighted readers for almost 40 years. "Nina Bawden - without question one of the very best writers for children". (Daily Telegraph). It is perfect for fans of Goodnight Mister Tom by Michelle Magorian. Nina Bawden was one of the UK's best writers for both adults and children. She often used her own childhood experiences in her books - Carrie's War is set in the mining valley in Wales where she lived as an evacuee in wartime. She studied philosophy, politics and economics at Somerville College, Oxford and finished her first novel the year after she took her degree. She won the Guardian Award for Children's Fiction for The Peppermint Pig. Nina died in 2012, aged 87. Also available in A Puffin Book: Goodnight Mister Tom and Back Home by Michelle Magorian; Charlotte's Web, Stuart Little And The Trumpet Of The Swan by E. B. White; The Borrowers by Mary Norton; Stig Of The Dump by Clive King; Roll Of Thunder, Hear My Cry by Mildred D. Taylor; A Dog So Small by Philippa Pearce; Gobbolino by Ursula Moray Williams; Carrie's War by Nina Bawden; Mrs Frisby and The Rats Of Nimh by Richard C O'brien; A Wrinkle In Time by Madeleine L'engle; The Cay by Theodore Taylor; Tarka The Otter by Henry Williamson; Watership Down by Richard Adams; Smith by Leon Garfield; The Neverending Story by Michael Ende; Annie by Thomas Meehan; and The Family From One End Street by Eve Garnett.

Product Details

ISBN 9780141354903
Weight 0.22
Publisher PENGUIN GROUP (UK)
Book Size (cm.) 12.9 x 19.8 x 1.8
Language English
Number of Pages 240

Highlight

Carrie's War by Nina Bawden; Mrs Frisby and The Rats Of Nimh by Richard C O'brien; A Wrinkle In Time by Madeleine L'engle; The Cay by Theodore Taylor; Tarka The Otter by Henry Williamson; Watership Down by Richard Adams; Smith by Leon Garfield; The Neverending Story by Michael Ende; Annie by Thomas Meehan; and The Family From One End Street by Eve Garnett.

All Reviews

Comments & Ratings (0 review)

  • (0)
  • (0)
  • (0)
  • (0)
  • (0)

You may also like

Recommended for you