Asiabooks.com

BURNABLE BOOK, A

Out of stock

฿425
BURNABLE BOOK, A

BURNABLE BOOK, A

Paperback

฿425

Out of stock

With this product, you earn 17 point(s).

Point details

PAYMENT METHOD

payment01 payment02 payment03
คำที่เกี่ยวข้อง HISTORICAL FICTION

Synopsis: BURNABLE BOOK, A

A stunning debut historical thriller set in the turbulent 14th Century for fans of CJ Sansom, The Name of the Rose and An Instance of the Fingerpost. London, 1385. A city of shadows and fear, in a kingdom ruled by the headstrong young King Richard II, haunted by the spectre of revolt. A place of poetry and prophecy, where power is bought by blood. For John Gower, part-time poet and full-time trader in information, secrets are his currency. When close confidant, fellow poet Geoffrey Chaucer, calls in an old debt, Gower cannot refuse. The request is simple: track down a missing book. It should be easy for a man of Gower's talents, who knows the back-alleys of Southwark as intimately as the courts and palaces of Westminster. But what Gower does not know is that this book has already caused one murder, and that its contents could destroy his life. Because its words are behind the highest treason - a conspiracy to kill the king and reduce his reign to ashes.

Product Details

ISBN 9780007493326
Weight 0.5
Publisher HARPER COLLINS PUBLISHERS UK (GBP)
Language English

Highlight

A stunning debut historical thriller set in the turbulent 14th Century for fans of CJ Sansom, The Name of the Rose and An Instance of the Fingerpost. London, 1385. A city of shadows and fear, in a kingdom ruled by the headstrong young King Richard II, haunted by the spectre of revolt. A place of poetry and prophecy, where power is bought by blood. For John Gower, part-time poet and full-time trader in information, secrets are his currency.

All Reviews

Comments & Ratings (0 review)

  • (0)
  • (0)
  • (0)
  • (0)
  • (0)
HOLSINGER, BRUCE

about author

Bruce Holsinger is an award-winning novelist and literary scholar. His debut novel, A Burnable Book (William Morrow/HarperCollins), won the John Hurt Fisher Prize and was shortlisted by the American Library Association for Best Crime Novel of 2014. The novel was reviewed in The New York Times Book Review, The Washington Post, The Sunday Times (London), National Public Radio, and many other venues. His new novel, The Invention of Fire, received starred reviews in Publisher’s Weekly and Library Journal and has been named an Amazon Book of the Month for April 2015.

As Professor of English at the University of Virginia, Bruce teaches courses on medieval and modern literature, from Beowulf to contemporary fiction. He has taught historical fiction to students from around the world in a massive open online course (or MOOC) called “Plagues, Witches, and War: The Worlds of Historical Fiction,” which in fall 2013 brought together prominent authors, scholars, and over 20,000 students to consider the genre and craft of the historical novel from the eighteenth century to the present.

Aside from his fiction writing, Bruce is also the author or editor of six nonfiction books, which have garnered major awards from the Modern Language Association, the American Musicological Society, and the Medieval Academy of America (you can read about his other writings here). His scholarly work has been recognized with a Guggenheim Fellowship, and he is the recipient of research fellowships from the National Endowment for the Arts and the American Council of Learned Societies.

A native of Leesburg, Virginia, ...

read more

You may also like

Recommended for you